top of page

You are here: ISWGA Home > History > History

The first ISWGA golf tournament was held Sept 29-Oct 1st, 1980 at Connersville Country Club, which is now Willowbrook Country Club. The entry fee was $35, plus $9 per day for the cart fees.  The original board members were Ruth Burke (President) from Connersville, Luise Werking (Vice President) from Connersville, Dote Schuette (Secretary-Treasurer) from West Lafayette, Betty Harmless (Representative) from Greencastle, and Jane Witherby (Representative) from Richmond. 


A mixed scramble, which included husbands, was held on Sunday, September 28, 1980.  A buffet dinner and prizes were awarded after golf.  The ISWGA tournament included a mixed tournament on the first day every year until 2006.


There were 80 participants, ages 50 and over, who competed in the first ISWGA tournament.  An 18-hole qualification round was held on Monday, Sept 29, 1980 with players teeing off on holes 1 and 10. Players were flighted based on first day's scores.  A second 18-hole round was played on Tuesday morning and a banquet was held Tuesday evening.  Prizes were awarded for putting, low medalist and teams.  After 2 more 18-hole rounds, prizes were awarded for 1st, 2nd, 3rd low gross and net in each flight.  Ruth Burke of Connersville was the first ISWGA Champion with a 268 gross score for 3 days.

ISWGA 1980 Medalists Ruth Burke & Betty Harmless
First Annual Tournament held in 1980
Ruth Burke of Connersville won the first annual ISWGA tournament
Sue Uslar won Low Putts and Roberta McCormick and Betty Harmless won the 2 Woman Team award
4 Woman Team winners from Connersville CC (Ro Bruewer, Norma Nichols, Sue Harris & Ruth Burke)
1980 ISWGA Low Net Winners Norma Nichols, Terry Bowen and Sue Harris
1980 ISWGA Mixed Tournament winners - Richard and Lorraine Oaks, Joyce Tucker, and Gene and Mary Jane Henry
1980 ISWGA Local Golfers in Three of Top Four Sports in Tourney.
1980 ISWGA 2nd Round Article
History of the ISWGA
ISWGA Timeline

1982 - The entry age was changed to 55 yrs and older, because of the popularity of the tournament.  Qualifying was changed to two days instead of one day.  The award for 2 woman and 4 woman teams was changed to two days instead of one day.  

1983 - The ISWGA becomes a non-profit corporation.  A memorial low net award was created based on two days of play.

1984 - Changed the format of the mixed tournament from a scramble to a best ball event.

1985 - The first day of the tournament was rained out.

1986 - The third day of the tournament was rained out

1988 - Changed low putts and team prizes to be based on first day of play.  Decided to award duplicate prizes for the Medalist in case of a tie.

1992 - Decided that the Medalist winner would not be eligible for the Memorial Low Net prize.

1994 - Added prizes for Super Senior low gross and low net for participants over 66 years of age.

1995 - Added fourth place low gross and net prizes for each flight.

1997 - Changed last day of tournament play to a shot-gun format so that everyone finishes at the same time.

1998 - Divided the Secretary-Treasurer board position into separate positions.

2002 - The entry age was lowered to 50 yrs and older.

2003 - Added prizes for Closest to the Pin and Super Senior longest drive

2005 - Changed the Secretary and Treasurer board positions to 2-year positions.

bottom of page